Monday, December 31, 2012

TU's Search For Athletic Director On Hold During NCAA Probe

',
calendar:'',
week:'{week}', dayClickable:'{date}', dayCurrent:'{date}', dayNone:'', day:'{date}', search:'' }, // Stored objects $container = $(loc), now = new Date(), current = now, minDate = new Date('12/5/2007'), station = wng_pageInfo.affiliateName||'kotv', months = ['January', 'February', 'March', 'April', 'May', 'June', 'July', 'August', 'September', 'October', 'November', 'December'], monthLengths = [31, 28, 31, 30, 31, 30, 31, 31, 30, 31, 30, 31], // Helper methods renderTemplate = function(tpl, vars) { var retVal = templates[tpl]; if (typeof(retVal) === 'string') { for (var i in vars) { var regEx = new RegExp('\{' + i + '\}', 'g'); retVal = retVal.replace(regEx, vars[i]); } } else { retVal = null; } return retVal; }, // Renderers makeCalendar = function(date) { // Copy the date to a new object (so as not to overwrite the original) and set us to the beginning of the month date = new Date(date); date.setDate(1); current = date; var month = date.getMonth(), year = date.getFullYear(), firstDay = date.getDay(), out = '', days = '', colCount = 0, monthLength = monthLengths[month] + (month == 1 && year % 4 == 0 ? 2 : 1); // Figure up the month length taking into consideration leap years. Not accurate to 100+ years // Render the days before the start of the month if necessary for (var i = 0; i = minDate) { tpl = 'dayClickable'; } days += renderTemplate(tpl, {date:i}); colCount++; if (colCount % 7 == 0) { out += renderTemplate('week', {week:days}); days = ''; } } // Tack on the last week if (days != '') { out += renderTemplate('week', {week:days}); } // Render to the DOM out = renderTemplate('calendar', {days:out}); out = renderTemplate('controls', {month:months[month], year:year}) + out + templates.search; $container.html(out); // Determine whether the previous/next buttons should be shown date.setDate(1); if (date 12) { month = 1; year++; } makeCalendar(new Date(month + '/1/' + year)); } }, // Init init = function() { $container.addClass('gnmCalendar'); makeCalendar(now); }; init(); };

Source: http://www.news9.com/story/20469506/tus-search-for-athletic-director-on-hold-during-ncaa-probe

argentina train crash nancy pelosi nancy pelosi gop debate republican debate lewis black kirkwood

Android Central's most popular stories of 2012

Most popular stories of 2012

It's time for a quick look back at the year that was. Frankly, we don't remember most of it. Apparently a year ago or so we were in Las Vegas for CES. Then Barcelona for Mobile World Congress. Then London for the Samsung Galaxy S3. Then New Orleans for CTIA. And San Francisco for Google IO. And Seoul for the LG Optimus G. And San Diego for MobileCON. And any number of other singletons in between. So, yeah. It was a busy year.

After the break we've got a look at some of our most popular stories of 2012. Not necessarily the most important. Not necessarily our favorites. But in terms of page views (we now have to get a second set of hands to count those on, by the way), this is what you guys and gals -- our dear readers -- were peeping over the past 12 months. Of course, it's a little biased toward older stories, but there are some rather recent ones tucked away in there, too. Enjoy!

read more



Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/androidcentral/~3/epTakrfM2Bc/story01.htm

oakland raiders Jessica Lange NFL scores week 3 kat dennings Steve Sabol Yom Kippur 2012 Aaron Paul

Muskegon County GOP Elects ?Tea Party, Ron Paul-Types? As Executive Officers, Goes More Conservative

ron paul

By?Eric Gaertner

MUSKEGON COUNTY, MI ? The Muskegon County Republican Party is now being led by a more conservative and Libertarian-type executive committee.

Andrew Fink, a Muskegon Community College adjunct instructor of government and a former attorney, is the only holdover on the executive committee, moving up to chairman of the county Republican Party. He and the other newly elected officers apparently have more of a Ron Paul slant to their political thinking.

?Nearly all of the members elected by the precinct delegates are new to the executive committee,? Fink said. ?They are anxious to promote the principles of individual freedom and efficient government. They will give the party new life.?

The officers, who were elected during the Republican Party?s December meeting, are: Fink, of Whitehall, chairman; Amy Preston of Norton Shores, vice chairwoman; Brad Shafer of Fruitland Township, secretary; and Eric Rothoff of Twin Lake, treasurer.

Muskegon County GOP Elects ?Tea Party, Ron Paul-Types? As Executive Officers, Goes More Conservative [continued]

?

Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/BreakTheMatrix/~3/HHnjfMEtlDU/

Dick Morris Daily Show provisional ballot npr rush limbaugh rush limbaugh karl rove

Sunday, December 30, 2012

Snote et Google drive

Bon, je suis pass? sous 4.1.1, mais le pb reste le m?me.
En fait, je pense que la solution serait de monter un dossier de Drive.
Mais comment?...

Je pr?cise qu'en mode "hors connexion" le probl?me est le m?me:
"Impossible d'enregistrer le document"

puis

Enregistr?
/data/data/com.google.android.apps.docs/cache...

mais le document n'est pas enregistr?...

Modifi? par jeanraoul, aujourd'hui, 14:04.

Source: http://forum.frandroid.com/topic/132546-snote-et-google-drive/

Ledecky Nadia Comaneci Rebecca Soni Snoop Lion London 2012 Table Tennis badminton Dominique Dawes

U.S. defeats South Africa 2-1 at Hopman Cup

John Isner and Venus Williams share a laugh during Sunday's match.

Paul Kane/Getty Images

PERTH, Australia (AP) -- Venus Williams and John Isner led the United States to a 2-1 victory over South Africa at the Hopman Cup mixed team competition Sunday.

Williams rallied to defeat 60th-ranked Chanelle Scheepers 4-6, 6-2, 6-3. After Kevin Anderson beat Isner 7-6 (0), 7-6 (5), the match came down to mixed doubles. Williams and Isner beat the South Africans 6-3, 6-2 to clinch victory.

Williams took some time to settle in against an opponent who rallied well and hit the ball deep. Scheepers broke Williams at love to serve for the first set. But after that, the seven-time Grand Slam champion looked increasingly comfortable and began to play more aggressively.

Williams clinched the second set when Scheepers double-faulted. She then won the first four games of the third.

Williams was playing for the first time since winning at Luxembourg in mid-October.

"I was just trying to find some rhythm out there," she said. "She's obviously a really good player having maintained a top-40, top-50 ranking the last couple of years. She played a match yesterday, too, so had an extra advantage. It felt good out there.

"I'm not expecting to be perfect now, but I'm thinking that my game will get better every match. I think the doubles will help as well to hone everything. More than anything I was just so excited to be out there playing, and I'm ready to go for it."

Spain beat France 2-1 after Fernando Verdasco and Anabel Medina Garrigues won the mixed doubles against Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Mathilde Johansson.

Tsonga beat Verdasco 7-5, 6-3 in the singles, and Medina Garrigues defeated Johansson 6-3, 6-2.

On Monday, top-ranked Novak Djokovic and former No. 1 player Ana Ivanovic represent Serbia against the Italian team of Andreas Seppi and Francesca Schiavone.

Andrea Petkovic, who retired with a right knee injury against Australia on Saturday, has withdrawn from the competition with a ruptured meniscus and will miss the Australian Open. She will be replaced by Tatjana Malek for Germany's remaining matches against Italy and Serbia.

Copyright 2012 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Source: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/tennis/news/20121230/u-s-south-africa-hopman-cup.ap/index.html

secret service prostitution 4 20 george zimmerman sheree whitfield weather dallas pat summitt real housewives of atlanta

Obama promises gun legislation, skeptical of NRA's guns in school idea

President Barack Obama addressed gun control in an interview Sunday, saying he would like to get legislation passed in the first year of his second term. The NRA has called for more guns in schools, but Obama said he isn't sure about that idea.

By Jeff Mason,?Reuters / December 30, 2012

A customer checks out a shotgun at Burdett & Son Outdoor Adventure Shop in College Station, Texas, Dec. 19. The divide between those who favor gun control and those who don't has existed for decades, separating America into hostile camps of conservative vs. liberal, rural vs. urban. As the nation responds to the massacre of 20 children and six adults in Newtown, Conn., the gulf has rarely felt wider than now.

Pat Sullivan/AP/File

Enlarge

President?Barack Obama?said in an interview broadcast on Sunday he hopes to get new U.S. gun control measures passed during the first year of his second term and is skeptical of a proposal by the?National Rifle Association?(NRA) gun lobby to put armed guards in schools.

Skip to next paragraph

' + google_ads[0].line2 + '
' + google_ads[0].line3 + '

'; } else if (google_ads.length > 1) { ad_unit += ''; } } document.getElementById("ad_unit").innerHTML += ad_unit; google_adnum += google_ads.length; return; } var google_adnum = 0; google_ad_client = "pub-6743622525202572"; google_ad_output = 'js'; google_max_num_ads = '1'; google_feedback = "on"; google_ad_type = "text"; google_adtest = "on"; google_image_size = '230x105'; google_skip = '0'; // -->

Obama assigned Vice President?Joe Biden?to lead a task force to come up with proposals on guns at the beginning of 2013 after the massacre of 20 children and six adults by a gunman at an elementary school in Newtown,?Connecticut, this month.

"I'd like to get it done in the first year. I will put forward a very specific proposal based on the recommendations that?Joe Biden's task force?is putting together as we speak. And so this is not something that I will be putting off," Obama told NBC's "Meet the Press" in an interview taped on Saturday.

"I am not going to prejudge the recommendations that are given to me. I am skeptical that the only answer is putting more guns in schools. And I think the vast majority of the American people are skeptical that that somehow is going to solve our problem," he said.

The influential NRA has said new gun laws are not a good answer and has called for some form of armed guards to be present in all U.S. schools.

Obama, who said the shooting was the worst day of his presidency, attended a memorial service for the Newtown victims and promised he would take swift action to prevent further massacres like that one from being repeated.

The president has faced criticism for failing to take on the gun lobby after other mass shootings that have occurred during his time in office. While bristling at the criticism, the president has indicated that this time something will get done.

"I'm going to be putting forward a package and I'm going to be putting my full weight behind it. And I'm going to be making an argument to the American people about why this is important and why we have to do everything we can to make sure that something like what happened at Sandy Hook Elementary does not happen again," he said in the interview.

"And the question then becomes whether we are actually shook up enough by what happened here that it does not just become another one of these routine episodes where it gets a lot of attention for a couple of weeks and then it drifts away. It certainly won't feel like that to me."

Gun control is a divisive issue in the?United States, where the right to bear arms is enshrined in the Constitution, and the NRA has significant political sway.

Proponents of tighter gun laws hope that not having to run for re-election again will give Obama a strengthened hand, but any legislative measures would have to pass the Republican-controlled?House of Representatives, which has been reluctant to support initiatives proposed by the Democratic president.

Source: http://rss.csmonitor.com/~r/feeds/csm/~3/8s3YtzR_UnE/Obama-promises-gun-legislation-skeptical-of-NRA-s-guns-in-school-idea

republican candidates mike martz hokies quadrantid norv turner jerry angelo

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Online advertising | how to increase website traffic

  • Search engine optimization
  • Social media marketing
  • Email marketing
  • Referral marketing
  • Content marketing
  • Pay per click
  • Cost per impression
  • Search analytics
  • Web analytics
  • Contextual advertising
  • Behavioral targeting
  • Cost per action
  • Revenue sharing
  • Streaming media
  • Electronic books
  • Software
  • Banking
  • Food ordering
  • Online flower delivery
  • Online pharmacy
  • DVD-by-mail
  • Travel
  • Trading communities
  • Auctions
  • Online wallet
  • Advertising
  • Price comparison service
  • Social commerce
  • Payment
  • Ticketing
  • Banking
  • Product marketing
  • Pricing
  • Distribution
  • Service
  • Retail
  • Brand management
  • Account-based marketing
  • Ethics
  • Effectiveness
  • Research
  • Segmentation
  • Strategy
  • Activation
  • Management
  • Dominance
  • Marketing operations
  • Advertising
  • Branding
  • Underwriting spot
  • Direct marketing
  • Personal sales
  • Product placement
  • Publicity
  • Sales promotion
  • Sex in advertising
  • Loyalty marketing
  • Mobile marketing
  • Premiums
  • Prizes
  • Printing
  • Publication
  • Broadcasting
  • Out-of-home advertising
  • Internet
  • Point of sale
  • Merchandise
  • Digital marketing
  • In-game advertising
  • Product demonstration
  • Word-of-mouth
  • Brand ambassador
  • Drip marketing
  • Visual merchandising

Online marketing, also known as online advertisement, internet marketing, online marketing or e-marketing, is the marketing and promotion of products or services over the Internet.Online advertising is a form of promotion that uses the Internet and World Wide Web to deliver marketing messages to attract customers.Examples of online advertising include contextual ads on search engine results pages, banner ads, blogs, rich media Ads, social network advertising, interstitial ads, online classified advertising, advertising networks, dynamic banner ads, cross-platform ads and e-mail marketing, including e-mail spam. Many of these types of ads are delivered by an ad server.Online advertising is a form of promotion that uses the Internet and World Wide Web to deliver marketing messages to attract customers.Contents

  • 1 History of online advertising
  • 2 Competitive advantage over traditional advertising
  • 3 Online advertisement
  • 4 Types of Internet marketing

    4.1 Business models
    4.2 Revenue models
    4.3 Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television

  • 4.1 Business models
  • 4.2 Revenue models
  • 4.3 Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television
  • 5 Approaches

    5.1 One-to-one approaches
    5.2 Appeal to specific interests
    5.3 Niche marketing
    5.4 Geo-targeting

  • 5.1 One-to-one approaches
  • 5.2 Appeal to specific interests
  • 5.3 Niche marketing
  • 5.4 Geo-targeting
  • 6 Types

    6.1 E-mail advertising
    6.2 Display advertising
    6.3 Affiliate marketing
    6.4 Behavioral targeting
    6.5 Semantic advertising
    6.6 Social network advertising

  • 6.1 E-mail advertising
  • 6.2 Display advertising
  • 6.3 Affiliate marketing
  • 6.4 Behavioral targeting
  • 6.5 Semantic advertising
  • 6.6 Social network advertising
  • 7 Ad server market structure
  • 8 Advantages and limitations of Internet marketing

    8.1 Advantages

  • 8.1 Advantages
  • 9 Problems of online advertising

    9.1 Privacy
    9.2 Malware
    9.3 Limitations
    9.4 Security concerns

  • 9.1 Privacy
  • 9.2 Malware
  • 9.3 Limitations
  • 9.4 Security concerns
  • 10 Ethics
  • 11 ?Internet marketing? scams
  • 12 Usage trends
  • 13 Effects on industries

    13.1 Advertising industry

  • 13.1 Advertising industry
  • 14 Film and television marketing
  • 15 See also
  • 16 References
  • 4.1 Business models
  • 4.2 Revenue models
  • 4.3 Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television
  • 5.1 One-to-one approaches
  • 5.2 Appeal to specific interests
  • 5.3 Niche marketing
  • 5.4 Geo-targeting
  • 6.1 E-mail advertising
  • 6.2 Display advertising
  • 6.3 Affiliate marketing
  • 6.4 Behavioral targeting
  • 6.5 Semantic advertising
  • 6.6 Social network advertising
  • 9.1 Privacy
  • 9.2 Malware
  • 9.3 Limitations
  • 9.4 Security concerns
  • 13.1 Advertising industry

History of online advertising

Online advertising began in 1994 when HotWire sold the first banner ads to several advertisers.[1]Revenue in the United States grew to an estimated $7.1 billion in 2001 or about 3.1 percent of overall advertising spending. The dot-com bust destroyed or weakened many of the early online advertising industry players and reduced the demand for online advertising and related services.The industry regained momentum by 2004 as the business model for ?Web 2.0? came together.[2]A number of businesses emerged that facilitated the buying and selling of advertising space on web pages. Entities that operated web portals settled on the traditional ?free-tv? model: generate traffic by giving away the content and sell that traffic to advertisers. Most web sites, with the exception of transaction ones such as eBay, generate the preponderance of their revenues from the sale of advertising inventory?the eyeballs that view space allocated for promotions?to advertisers. In the first half of 2007 alone, advertisers in the US spent more than $10 billion advertising on websites.[3]That was about 14 percent of all advertising spending.The portion of advertising that is done online will increase significantly over time as more devices such as mobile telephones and televisions are connected to the Internet and people spend more time on these devices. The valuations that the capital markets are placing on businesses related to online advertising are consistent with this prediction. Google has had a seven-fold increase in its market value from August 2004 when it was valued at $29 billion to $215 billion in December 2007. During 2007 several companies in the online advertising market were purchased at multiples of 10-15 times annual revenues.[4][5][6]The online advertising industry burst into the public eye in 2007. Google?s sky-rocketing stock price and its forays into industries such as word processing software, online payments, and mobile telephones drew significant attention. More than 500 articles on Google appeared in the New York Times, Wall St. Journal and the Financial Times during the year. The U.S. Federal Trade Commission and the European Commission launched in-depth antitrust investigations into Google?s acquisition of DoubleClick, which provides software technology and services to online advertisers and publishers.[7]Privacy concerns also came to the fore in 2007 as consumers, government agencies and the media started focusing on the massive amount of personal data that online advertising companies were storing and using.[8][9]Businesses began to move their advertising efforts into areas by making wide use of social media from 2009. The social media includes social networking tools such as Facebook, Twitter, Hi-5, social news tools such as Reddit, Digg Propeller, social photo & video sharing tools such as Photobucket, Flickr, YouTube and social bookmarking tools such as Del.icio.us, Simpy. One of the advantages of social media advertising is proper targeting of market through the use of the users? demographic information provided. The disadvantage is measuring effectivity of social media advertising, whether or not the number of ?likes?, ?friends? or ?follows? could convert to actual sales.[10]

Competitive advantage over traditional advertising

One major benefit of online advertising is the immediate publishing of information and content that is not limited by geography or time. To that end, the emerging area of interactive advertising presents fresh challenges for advertisers who have hitherto adopted an interruptive strategy.Another benefit is the efficiency of the advertiser?s investment. Online advertising allows for the customization of advertisements, including content and posted websites. For example, AdWords, Yahoo! Search Marketing and Google AdSense enable ads to be shown on relevant web pages or alongside search results.

Online advertisement

The internet has become an ongoing emerging source that tends to expand more and more. The growth of this particular medium attracts the attention of advertisers as a more productive source to bring in consumers.A clear advantage consumers have with online advertisement is the control they have over the product, choosing whether to check it out or not.[11]Online advertisements may also offer various forms of animation. In its most common use, the term ?online advertising? comprises all sorts of banner, e-mail, in-game, and keyword advertising, including on platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and MySpace. Web-related advertising has a variety of ways to publicize and reach a niche audience to focus its attention to a specific group. Research has proven that online advertising has given results and is a growing business revenue.[12] For the year 2012, Jupiter Research predicted $34.5 billion in US online advertising spending.

Types of Internet marketing

Internet marketing is broadly divided in to the following types:[13][better?source?needed]

  • Display advertising: the use of web banners or banner ads placed on a third-party website or blog to drive traffic to a company?s own website and increase product awareness.[13]
  • Search engine marketing (SEM): a form of marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs) through the use of either paid placement, contextual advertising, and paid inclusion, or through the use of free search engine optimization techniques also known as organic result.[14]
  • Search engine optimization (SEO): the process of improving the visibility of a website or a web page in search engines via the ?natural? or un-paid (?organic? or ?algorithmic?) search results.
  • Social media marketing: the process of gaining traffic or attention through social media websites such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.[15]
  • Email marketing: directly marketing a commercial message to a group of people using electronic mail.
  • Referral marketing: a method of promoting products or services to new customers through referrals, usually word of mouth.
  • Affiliate marketing: a marketing practice in which a business rewards one or more affiliates for each visitor or customer brought about by the affiliate?s own marketing efforts.
  • Inbound marketing: involves creating and freely sharing informative content as a means of converting prospects into customers and customers into repeat buyers.
  • Video marketing: This type of marketing specializes in creating videos that engage the viewer into a buying state by presenting information in video form and guiding them to a product or service[citation needed] Online video is increasingly becoming more popular among internet users and companies are seeing it as a viable method of attracting customers.[16]

Business models

Internet marketing is associated with several business models:

  • E-commerce: a model whereby goods and services are sold directly to a consumer or business.
  • Lead-based websites: a strategy whereby an organization generates value by acquiring sales leads from its website.[citation needed] Similar to walk-in customers in retail world. These prospects are often referred to as organic leads.
  • Affiliate marketing: a process wherein a product or service developed by one entity is sold by other active sellers for a share of profits.[citation needed] The entity that owns the product may provide some marketing material (e.g., sales letters, affiliate links, tracking facilities, etc.); however, the vast majority of affiliate marketing relationships come from e-commerce businesses that offer affiliate programs.[citation needed]

Revenue models

The three most common ways in which online advertising is purchased are CPM, CPC, and CPA.

  • CPM (Cost Per Mille) or CPT (Cost Per Thousand Impressions) is when advertisers pay for exposure of their message to a specific audience. ?Per mille? means per thousand impressions, or loads of an advertisement. However, some impressions may not be counted, such as a reload or internal user action.
  • CPV (Cost Per Visitor) is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to the advertisers website.
  • CPV (Cost Per View) is when advertisers pay for each unique user view of an advertisement or website (usually used with pop-ups, pop-unders and interstitial ads).
  • CPC (Cost Per Click) or PPC (Pay per click) is when advertisers pay each time a user clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They do not actually pay for the listing, but only when the listing is clicked on. This system allows advertising specialists to refine searches and gain information about their market. Under the Pay per click pricing system, advertisers pay for the right to be listed under a series of target rich words that direct relevant traffic to their website, and pay only when someone clicks on their listing which links directly to their website. CPC differs from CPV in that each click is paid for regardless of whether the user makes it to the target site.
  • CPA (Cost Per Action or Cost Per Acquisition) or PPF (Pay Per Performance)[17] advertising is performance based and is common in the affiliate marketing sector of the business. In this payment scheme, the publisher takes all the risk of running the ad, and the advertiser pays only for the number of users who complete a transaction, such as a purchase or sign-up. This model ignores any inefficiency in the seller?s web site conversion funnel. The following are common variants of CPA:

    CPL (Cost Per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.
    CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order) advertising is based on each time a sale is made.[18]

  • CPL (Cost Per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.
  • CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order) advertising is based on each time a sale is made.[18]
  • CPL (Cost Per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.
  • CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order) advertising is based on each time a sale is made.[18]
  • eCPM: Effective CPM or eCPM calculated through other conversion events such as Cost per Clicks, Cost per Downloads, Cost per Leads etc. for example when an advertiser getting $2 per download and for 100,000 impressions you received 10 downloads worth $20, in this case your effective CPM or eCPM will be 2*20*1000/100,000= $0.4
  • Fixed Cost: Advertiser paying fixed cost for delivery frame by campaign flight dates without any relevance to performance
  • Cost per conversion Describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated by dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions. The definition of ?Conversion? varies depending on the situation: it is sometimes considered to be a lead, a sale, or a purchase.

Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television

Online advertisement can also be classified as Digital Promotions. Digital promotion in connection to the television industry is when networks use authentic digital resources to promote their new shows in a growing vast range of venues.[19] Television networks development of digital off air promotional strategies allowed digital promotion to remain significant to the advertisement advancement in the television.Examples of television online digital promotions: The Sci Fi network for loaded a special recap episode of Battlestar Galactica onto Microsoft?s Xbox online gaming service; this gave the audience additional opportunities to sample content if they may or may not be familiar with the show.[20]Another example of digital promotion in television is when network CBS incorporated new digital technologies of Bluetooth-enabled mobile devices that were able to download a thirty-second clip of a new show on their devices; consumers standing in range of a billboard don?t need an internet link to download the show?s content.[21]These non-linear viewing opportunities provided as a valuable tool for gaining audiences; and to encourage them to intersect with the linear audience.[22]

Approaches

One-to-one approaches

In a one-to-one approach, marketers target a user browsing the Internet alone and so that the marketers? messages reach the user personally. This approach is used in search marketing, for which the advertisements are based on search engine keywords entered by the users. This approach usually works under the pay per click (PPC) method.[citation needed]

Appeal to specific interests

When appealing to specific interests, marketers place an emphasis on appealing to a specific behavior or interest, rather than reaching out to a broadly defined demographic.[citation needed] These marketers typically segment their markets according to age group, gender, geography, and other general factors.[citation needed]Appealing to specific users can be achieved through behavioral targeting which refers to the use of behavioral patterns and putting up the relevant content suitable to the viewer?s interest obtained from the user through cookies and other tools and contextual advertising which refers to the publishing of advertisements and ads based on the context the user in. For example if the user is searching for coffee, the search engine publishes ads related to coffee.

Niche marketing

In conventional niche marketing, clusters of consumers (the niche) are identified in order to more economically and efficiently target them.[23] Similarly, niche internet marketing attempts to create a more direct advertising message for those who are seen as most likely to buy the product being advertised (see Target audience and Conversion rate).[citation needed]Niche internet marketing focuses on marketing products and services which are, or can appear, tailor-made for a specific subset of consumers who are expected to buy the product or service with a specific motivation. The online advertising message (or product web site) can then be similarly tailor-made to target that assumed motivation.[citation needed] In combination with search engine optimization, the niche internet marketer can attempt to increase the likelihood that their product?s advertisement (or site) will be seen by customers in the relevant niche.[citation needed]

Geo-targeting

In Internet marketing, geotargeting is the methods of determining the geolocation of a website visitor with geolocation software, and delivering different content to that visitor based on his or her location, such as latitude and longitude, country, region or state, city, metro code or zip code, organization, Internet Protocol (IP) address, ISP, and other criteria.[citation needed]

Types

Though, as seen above, the large majority of online advertising has a cost that is brought about by usage or interaction of an ad, there are a few other methods of advertising online that only require a one time payment. The Million Dollar Homepage is a very successful example of this. Visitors were able to pay $1 per pixel of advertising space and their advert would remain on the homepage for as long as the website exists with no extra costs.

  • Floating ad: An ad which moves across the user?s screen or floats above the content.
  • Expanding ad: An ad which changes size and which may alter the contents of the webpage.
  • Polite ad: A method by which a large ad will be downloaded in smaller pieces to minimize the disruption of the content being viewed
  • Wallpaper ad: An ad which changes the background of the page being viewed.
  • Trick banner: A banner ad that looks like a dialog box with buttons. It simulates an error message or an alert.
  • Pop-up: A new window which opens in front of the current one, displaying an advertisement, or entire webpage.
  • Pop-under: Similar to a Pop-Up except that the window is loaded or sent behind the current window so that the user does not see it until they close one or more active windows.
  • Video ad: similar to a banner ad, except that instead of a static or animated image, actual moving video clips are displayed. This is the kind of advertising most prominent in television, and many advertisers will use the same clips for both television and online advertising.
  • Map ad: text or graphics linked from, and appearing in or over, a location on an electronic map such as on Google Maps.
  • Mobile ad: an SMS text or multi-media message sent to a cell phone.
  • Superstitial: An animated ad on a Web page from Enliven Marketing Technologies. It uses video, 3D content or Flash to provide a TV-like advertisement. Used to be known as Unicast Transitional ads as they were originally made by Unicast Communications but the company was acquired by Viewpoint Corporation in 2004, which then changed its name to Enliven in 2008.[24]
  • Interstitial ad: a full-page ad that appears before a user reaches their original destination.
  • Frame ad: an ad that appeared within an HTML frame, usually at the top with the site logo. As the user browsed the site, the frame would not change.

In addition, ads containing streaming video or streaming audio are becoming very popular with advertisers.[25][26]

E-mail advertising

Legitimate Email advertising or E-mail marketing is often known as ?opt-in e-mail advertising? or permission marketing to distinguish it from spam.

Display advertising

Display advertising appears on web pages in many forms, including web banners. These banners can consist of static or animated images, as well as interactive media that may include audio and video elements. Display advertising on the Internet is widely used for branding. This is why metrics like interaction time are becoming more relevant. This may change in the future as display advertising is becoming much more targeted to users, much like how search engine ads can be extremely relevant to users based on what they are searching for. Display advertisers use cookie and browser history to determine demographics and interests of users and target appropriate ads to those browsers. Banner ad standards have changed over the years to larger sizes, in part due to increased resolution of standard monitors and browsers, in part to provide advertisers with more impact for their investment. The standards continue to evolve. Banner ads can be targeted to internet users in many different ways in order to reach the advertiser?s most relevant audience. Behavioral retargeting, demographic targeting, geographic targeting, and site based targeting are all common ways in which advertisers choose to target their banner ads.

Affiliate marketing

Affiliate marketing is a form of online advertising where advertisers place campaigns with a potentially large number of small (and large) publishers, who are only paid media fees when traffic to the advertiser is garnered, and usually upon a specific measurable campaign result (a form, a sale, a sign-up, etc.). Today, this is usually accomplished through contracting with an affiliate network.Affiliate marketing was an invention by CDNow.com in 1994 and was excelled by Amazon.com when it launched its Affiliate Program, called Associate Program in 1996. The online retailer used its program to generate low cost brand exposure and provided at the same time small websites a way to earn some supplemental income.

Behavioral targeting

In addition to contextual targeting, online advertising can be targeted based on a user?s online behavior. This practice is known as behavioral targeting. For example, if a user is known to have recently visited a number of automotive shopping / comparison sites based on clickstream analysis enabled by cookies stored on the user?s computer, that user can then be served auto-related ads when they visit other, non-automotive sites.In the United States the Federal Trade Commission has been involved in the oversight of behavioral targeting for some time. In 2011 the FTC proposed a ?Do Not Track? mechanism to allow Internet users to opt-out of behavioral targeting.

Semantic advertising

Semantic advertising applies semantic analysis techniques to web pages. The process is meant to accurately interpret and classify the meaning and/or main subject of the page and then populate it with targeted advertising spots. By closely linking content to advertising, it is assumed that the viewer will be more likely to show an interest (i.e., through engagement) in the advertised product or service.

Social network advertising

Social network advertising is a form of Online advertising that focuses on social networking sites. Advertising on social media networks can take the form of direct display ad buys at the social networks, self-serve advertising through internal ad networks, and ad serving on social network applications through special social network application advertising networks.[27]

Ad server market structure

Given below is a list of top Ad server vendors in 2008 with figures in millions of viewers published in an Attributor survey. Since 2008 Google has controlled an estimated 69% of the online advertising market.[28]It should be noted that Google acquired DoubleClick in 2007 for a consideration of $3.1 billion. The above survey was based on a sample of 68 million domains.

Advantages and limitations of Internet marketing

Advantages

Internet marketing is inexpensive when examining the ratio of cost to the reach of the target audience.[citation needed] Companies can reach a wide audience for a small fraction of traditional advertising budgets.[citation needed] The nature of the medium allows consumers to research and to purchase products and services conveniently.[citation needed] Therefore, businesses have the advantage of appealing to consumers in a medium that can bring results quickly.[citation needed]Internet marketers also have the advantage of measuring statistics easily and inexpensively; almost all aspects of an Internet marketing campaign can be traced, measured, and tested, in many cases through the use of an ad server.[citation needed] The advertisers can use a variety of methods, such as pay per impression, pay per click, pay per play, and pay per action. Therefore, marketers can determine which messages or offerings are more appealing to the audience.[citation needed] The results of campaigns can be measured and tracked immediately because online marketing initiatives usually require users to click on an advertisement, to visit a website, and to perform a targeted action.[citation needed]

Problems of online advertising

Privacy

The use of online advertising has implications on the privacy and anonymity of users. Hosting the banner images on its servers and using third-party cookies, the advertising company is able to track the browsing of users across these two sites.Third-party cookies can be blocked by most browsers to increase privacy and reduce tracking by advertising and tracking companies without negatively affecting the user?s Web experience. Many advertising operators have an opt-out option to behavioral advertising, with a generic cookie in the browser stopping behavioral advertising.

Malware

There is also a class of advertising methods which are considered unethical and may even be illegal. These include external applications which alter system settings (such as a browser?s home page), spawn pop-ups, and insert advertisements into non-affiliated webpages. Such applications are usually labelled as spyware or adware. They may mask their questionable activities by performing a simple service, such as displaying the weather or providing a search bar. These programs are designed to dupe the user, acting effectively as Trojan horses. These applications are commonly designed so as to be difficult to remove or uninstall. The ever-increasing audience of online users, many of whom are not computer-savvy, frequently lack the knowledge and technical ability to protect themselves from these programs.

Limitations

  • One of the challenges that Internet markets face (as does the general public) is that many internet products are outright scams or promoted with deception making it difficult to know what one is buying. This is especially the case with products that are supposed to train or aid Internet marketers in making money. While the quality of products has improved in the past few years, ethics is still often missing in internet marketing. Many so-called money making products are ?empty boxes? in which there is essentially nothing there yet a buyer is to make money by reselling this empty box to others. Pyramid schemes are also still prevalent.
  • The consumer is unable to physically feel or try on the product which can be a limitation for certain goods. However a survey of consumers of cosmetics products shows that email marketing can be used to interest a consumer to visit a store to try a product or to speak with sales representatives. [29]
  • The marketer will not be able to use personal interaction to influence the audience as the marketing is completely based on the advertisement and the information that the advertisement might lead to (websites, blogs and other channels).

Security concerns

Information security is important both to companies and consumers that participate in online business. Many consumers are hesitant to purchase items over the Internet because they do not believe that their personal information will remain private. Some companies that purchase customer information offer the option for individuals to have their information removed from their promotional redistribution, also known as opting out. However, many customers are unaware if and when their information is being shared, and are unable to stop the transfer of their information between companies if such activity occurs. Additionally, companies holding private information are vulnerable to data attacks and leaks. Internet browsing privacy is a related consumer concern. Web sites routinely capture browsing and search history which can be used to provide targeted advertising. Privacy policies can provide transparency to these practices. Spyware prevention software can also be used to shield the consumer.Another consumer e-commerce concern is whether or not they will receive exactly what they purchase. Online merchants have attempted to address this concern by investing in and building strong consumer brands (e.g., Amazon.com, eBay, and Overstock.com), and by using merchant and feedback rating systems and e-commerce bonding solutions.[citation needed] All these solutions attempt to assure consumers that their transactions will be free of problems because the merchants can be trusted to provide reliable products and services.[citation needed] Additionally, several major online payment mechanisms (credit cards, PayPal, Google Checkout, etc.) have provided back-end buyer protection systems to address problems if they occur.[citation needed]

Ethics

Online advertising encompasses a range of types of advertising, some of which are deployed ethically and some are not. Some websites use large numbers of advertisements, including flashing banners that distract the user, and some have misleading images designed to look like error messages from the operating system, rather than advertisements. Websites that unethically use online advertising for revenue frequently do not monitor what advertisements on their website link to, allowing advertisements to lead to sites with malicious software or audience-inappropriate material. The ethical propriety of advertisers that use web searches for competitors? brands to trigger their own ads has been questioned.[30]Some argue that website operators who ethically use online advertising typically use a small number of advertisements that are not intended to distract or irritate the user, and do not detract from the design and layout of their websites.[31] Many website owners deal directly with companies that want to place ads, meaning that the website linked to by the advertisement is legitimate.The use of technologies like Adobe Flash in online advertising has led to some users disabling it in their browsers, or using browser plug-ins like Adblock or NoScript. Many sites use centralized advertising services whose advertisement may be blocked as a side effect of security and privacy measures, because the services require JavaScript and cross-site requests to function, while such features are often not necessary to use the sites and are a potential source of vulnerabilities.Some companies perform customer engagement studies in online marketing to insure consumer satisfaction, through the use of online compliance centers, building and deploying fraud detection tools, while inspecting websites and publishers to insure website pages offer the highest degree of information security and compliance with Can Spam Requirements.[32]

?Internet marketing? scams

In May 2012, The Verge writer Joseph L. Flatley reported that the terms ?Internet marketing? and ?Internet marketer? have been co-opted by a loose association of confidence artists running online get-rich-quick schemes.[33]

Usage trends

Technological advancements in the telecommunications industry have dramatically affected online advertising techniques.[citation needed] Many firms are embracing a paradigm that is shifting the focus of advertising methodology from traditional text and image advertisements to those containing more recent technologies like JavaScript and Adobe Flash.[citation needed] As a result, advertisers can more effectively engage and connect their audience with their campaigns that seek to shape consumer attitudes and feelings towards specific products and services.[citation needed]

Effects on industries

The number of banks offering the ability to perform banking tasks over the internet has increased.[citation needed] Online banking appeals to customers because it is often faster and considered more convenient than visiting bank branches.[34]

Advertising industry

In addition to the major effect internet marketing has had on the technology industry, the effect on the advertising industry itself has been profound. In just a few years, online advertising has grown to be worth tens of billions of dollars annually.[35][36][37] PricewaterhouseCoopers reported that US$16.9?billion was spent on Online marketing in the U.S. in 2006.[38]This has caused a growing impact on the United States? electoral process. In 2008, candidates for President heavily utilized Internet marketing strategies to reach constituents. During the 2007 primaries, candidates added, on average, over 500?social network supporters per day to help spread their message. President Barack Obama raised over US$1?million in one day during his extensive Democratic candidacy campaign, largely due to online donors.[39]Several industries have heavily invested in and benefited from internet marketing and online advertising. Some of them were originally brick and mortar businesses such as publishing, music, automotive or gambling, while others have sprung up as purely online businesses, such as digital design and media, blogging, and internet service hosting.[citation needed]

Film and television marketing

Industries such as film and television were somewhat slow when it came to putting content on the Internet. Film trailers, television show schedules and ?interactive? press kits came on the scene quite quickly as the content that promoted such products. This major media platform was developed with investments of millions by the film studios and television networks because it was a valuable marketing tool.[40]

See also

  • Ad server
  • App store optimization
  • Article marketing
  • Classified advertising
  • Conversion rate
  • Digital marketing
  • Frequency capping
  • In-text advertising
  • Inbound marketing
  • Lead scoring
  • Media transparency
  • Netnography
  • Online identity management
  • Online lead generation
  • Pay per click
  • Post-click marketing
  • Product feed
  • Real-time marketing
  • Search engine marketing
  • Social media optimization
  • Viral marketing
  • Web banner
  • Online presence management
  • Industry calculations:

    Click Through Rate (CTR)
    View-through rate (VTR)
    Cost Per Action (CPA)

    effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)

    Cost Per Click or Pay Per Click (CPC or PPC)
    Cost Per Impression (CPI)

    Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

    effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

  • Click Through Rate (CTR)
  • View-through rate (VTR)
  • Cost Per Action (CPA)

    effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)

  • effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)
  • Cost Per Click or Pay Per Click (CPC or PPC)
  • Cost Per Impression (CPI)

    Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

    effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

  • Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

    effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

  • effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)
  • Compensation methods
  • Classified advertising
  • Web advertising:

    Ad filtering
    Advertising network
    Article marketing
    Affiliate marketing
    Central ad server
    Click fraud
    Dot Commercials

  • Ad filtering
  • Advertising network
  • Article marketing
  • Affiliate marketing
  • Central ad server
  • Click fraud
  • Dot Commercials
  • E-mail advertising:

    e-mail spam
    opt-in e-mail advertising
    spamming
    In-text advertising

  • e-mail spam
  • opt-in e-mail advertising
  • spamming
  • In-text advertising
  • Mobile Advertising

    Mobile Marketing
    Mobile Development
    WAP
    Online classified advertising
    Overlay
    Pay per click
    Pay per play
    Performance-based advertising
    Pop-up ad

  • Mobile Marketing
  • Mobile Development
  • WAP
  • Online classified advertising
  • Overlay
  • Pay per click
  • Pay per play
  • Performance-based advertising
  • Pop-up ad
  • Search Engines

    Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
    Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
    Semantic advertising
    Unicast ad
    Web banner

  • Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
  • Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
  • Semantic advertising
  • Unicast ad
  • Web banner
  • Click Through Rate (CTR)
  • View-through rate (VTR)
  • Cost Per Action (CPA)

    effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)

  • effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)
  • Cost Per Click or Pay Per Click (CPC or PPC)
  • Cost Per Impression (CPI)

    Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

    effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

  • Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

    effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

  • effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)
  • effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)
  • effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)
  • Ad filtering
  • Advertising network
  • Article marketing
  • Affiliate marketing
  • Central ad server
  • Click fraud
  • Dot Commercials
  • e-mail spam
  • opt-in e-mail advertising
  • spamming
  • In-text advertising
  • Mobile Marketing
  • Mobile Development
  • WAP
  • Online classified advertising
  • Overlay
  • Pay per click
  • Pay per play
  • Performance-based advertising
  • Pop-up ad
  • Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
  • Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
  • Semantic advertising
  • Unicast ad
  • Web banner

References

  • Internet advertising methods
  • Internet marketing
  • Types of marketing
  • Marketing by medium
  • Articles needing cleanup from September 2012
  • All articles needing cleanup
  • Cleanup tagged articles with a reason field from September 2012
  • Wikipedia pages needing cleanup from September 2012
  • Articles needing additional references from May 2008
  • All articles needing additional references
  • All pages needing factual verification
  • Wikipedia articles needing factual verification from December 2012
  • All articles with unsourced statements
  • Articles with unsourced statements from May 2012
  • Articles needing additional references from January 2011
  • Articles with unsourced statements from January 2011
  • Articles with unsourced statements from July 2012
  • Wikipedia articles needing reorganization from November 2012
  • Articles needing additional references from June 2009

Tags: advertising, online

Source: http://www.profitabletraffik.com/online-advertising/

miranda july joe paterno near death joepa sc primary bill moyers heidi klum and seal divorce craigslist killer

Fans to introduce Beyonce at Super Bowl halftime

NEW YORK (AP) ? All the single ladies ? and fellas ? will have a chance to join Beyonce on the field at the Super Bowl.

Pepsi announced Friday that fans will introduce the Grammy-winning diva when she takes the stage Feb. 3 at New Orleans' Mercedes-Benz Superdome. A contest that kicks off Saturday will allow fans to submit photos of themselves in various poses, including head bopping, feet tapping and hip shaking. Those pictures will be used in a TV ad to air ahead of Beyonce's halftime performance, and 50 of those who submit photos ? along with a friend ? will be selected to introduce the singer.

Photo contest details are at www.pepsi.com/halftime . The contest ends Jan. 19, but Jan. 11 is the cutoff date for those interested in introducing Beyonce.

Source: http://news.yahoo.com/fans-introduce-beyonce-super-bowl-halftime-023946319--spt.html

night at the museum pope shenouda bolton muamba sxsw crystal cathedral st. patrick s day brandon lloyd

How to Audit Your Furnace

How to Audit Your FurnaceAre you in a long-distance relationship with your furnace? Do you know what it's up to when you're not home? Save money and become more energy efficient with these furnace tips provided by users at Q&A site Stack Exchange.

Jay Bazuzi Asks:

I want to keep track of when my furnace is on, with an eye to reducing how much energy I use to heat my house.

Reasons for wanting to do this:

I could compare it with weather data (temperature, wind speed, precipitation).

I could see what it saves to turn the heat down when we're out.

I could tell my kids exactly how much it costs when they leave the front door open.

How might I go about this?

Doresoom Answers:

You could mount a wind speed logger in your ductwork or in front of your air intake vent. It should have negligible drag effects on airflow through the system. I'm not sure how accurate the results would be though. The air movement from your furnace running is going to be a lot less than outside wind levels, which is what most wind speed loggers are actually designed for.

You can pick one up on Amazon for about $100.

Or you could go the direct approach with a breaker-installed power use monitor. This option's about twice the price, but monitors your whole house. Unfortunately, this method won't tell you exactly when your furnace comes on, although you should be able to figure it out, since it gives you a time history of power usage. Just note when you get a big spike, and then a big drop and match it to when your furnace turns on and off. Then look for that same magnitude spike in later data, without bothering to manually keep track of furnace cycling.

blalor Answers:

I have an ancient oil-fired steam boiler with a "tankless" hot water heater. I built an Arduino-based board that connects in parallel to the thermostat wires at the furnace. It uses a MID400 AC optocoupler to detect when the thermostat is calling for heat (24VAC when not calling for heat, 0VAC when it is), and then sends that to a computer via an XBee module.

From that you can keep track of how long the furnace runs. It's a very simple system with several shortcomings: It doesn't make a distinction between when the main zone of the house is calling for heat vs when hot water is called for, and can't tell when heat's being called for, but it can tell you when the low water or high temperature cut-outs have kicked in.

Not perfect, but it should give you some idea of your energy consumption.

shirlock homes Answers:

If you need to monitor just the furnace (what kind of furnace?), a very simple Amprobe chart recorder will do the job by monitoring the electrical inputs to the burner or pumps without any invasive wiring or computer interface. Old fashioned, but used in industrial applications for decades.

SamtheBrand Answers:

The Hohm power monitoring service used to be a great way to keep tabs on energy consumption (check out BQ's awesome answer), but in mid 2011 Microsoft discontinued it just as Google discontinued its competing service, Powermeter.

But while the tech giants seem to have abandoned home energy monitoring, several smaller players now offer similar services:

myEragy: A free web-based energy consumption dashboard that provides subscribers with real time, historical and projected info and sends alerts via email or SMS when you go overbudget or a specific circuit uses too much energy. myEragy supports several electricity monitors, including Blueline PowerCost Monitor with WiFi, TED 5000, and eGauge.

PlotWatt: Currently in beta, PlotWatt is a free service that plots energy usage in a user-friendly way, and according to the FAQ, tracks individual appliances using "algorithms." Suspicious, certainly, but promising. The service is compatible with TED and WattVisions monitors.

There are also more integrated options out there, such as Opower & Honeywell's thermostat product, which lets you adjust and monitor your thermostat from anywhere, and MyEnergy, which lets customers track electric, gas and water.

It's an exciting space out there with a lot of promising options. This is just a start.


Find the original post here. See more questions like this at Home Improvement, the DIY site at Stack Exchange. And of course, feel free to ask your own.

Illustration by Sean Gallagher.

Source: http://feeds.gawker.com/~r/lifehacker/full/~3/HVLg0HA2A4M/how-to-audit-your-furnace

black and tan dwight howard trade ncaa bracket 2012 2012 ncaa bracket john carlson greg smith catamount

Friday, December 28, 2012

Marketing Operations Specialist | IABC

Are you looking for an opportunity to apply your marketing skills at a growing technology company? Are you a stickler for details with the ability to forecast and remedy marketing and public relations challenges with your arsenal of talent? If so, we are looking for you!

Key responsibilities will include:

  • Assists with the development, writing and communication of marketing plans, promotional recaps, creative briefs, project recommendations and presentations
  • Ensures that all creative marketing materials undergo brand review and adhere to strict brand guidelines
  • Assists with writing and editing of promotional literature, newsletters, direct marketing and Internet marketing projects
  • Designs company collateral specific for campaigns, proposals, presentations and more
  • Works effectively as part of a multi-disciplinary marketing and communications team to communicate, coordinate and integrate marketing and communications, and apply best-in-class practices to all efforts
  • Develops opportunities and tactically executes upon department initiatives including internet marketing, direct marketing, tradeshow development, events and more
  • Responsible for managing all tactical event components with guidance of department director
  • Participates in regular strategy meetings and develops new programs and initiatives that are designed to further our mission
  • Assists with managing advertising initiatives and media plans
  • Participates in weekly sales meetings that are designed to inform and teach others in the company about marketing activities and initiatives
  • Analyzes marketing and competitive data and consolidates findings to support local and national marketing strategy development
  • Demonstrated success supervising and maintaining marketing plans, programs and initiatives that are strategic assets to the business and all clients
  • Ability to execute the day to day delivery of email marketing campaigns, e-newsletters, invitations etc.
  • Develop a lead nurturing program strategy and monitor ongoing campaigns
  • Has an understanding of marketing automation and can execute as needed
  • Monitor all processes and implement improvements to enhance marketing productivity
  • Assists in theme and content development for a variety of projects
  • Reviews various marketing materials and make recommended edits
  • Assists sales staff with marketing project requests
  • Must be able to write press releases, pitches, public relations campaigns and monitor such campaigns, providing metrics
  • Pitching relevant, targeted media with news stories that will drive awareness of the brand
  • Ability to work with journalists, creating and maintaining ongoing relationships for continued coverage
  • Monitoring and reporting on a wide variety of highly detailed Web analytics with emphasis on fact-based ROI and SEO recommendations
  • Assisting our team of technology specialists covering a broad spectrum of functions, including CRM, marketing database development, Web development and maintenance, e-campaigns and online marketing
  • Acting as Web project manager of the development of major new digital and interactive properties, with responsibility for all sourcing, pricing, documentation, needs assessment, resource management and monitoring at all project stages from pre-production to maintenance
  • Creating a culture of digital fluency and excitement within the organization through education, training, internal communications and marketing, and other activities

Expected Skills and Experience:

  • Strong writing skills are a must. We can?t stress this enough. Knowledge of AP style is mandatory.
  • Familiarity and experience handling large-scale campaigns
  • Extensive use of Facebook, Twitter, Hoot Suite/Tweetdeck and social media monitoring and management tools
  • Thorough understanding of key messaging and communicating to different audiences
  • Strong ability in graphic design, using Adobe Creative Suite ? we?ll need your creative brain, and your superior design skills to back it up
  • Seasoned experience in event management from brainstorming to execution
  • Minimum 3 years? experience in an agency setting or a managerial position.

Additional Experience Sought: Knowledge of digital design and design production principles, social media tools for business and media buying across multiple platforms, ability to build and manage websites and portals.

About BestIT:
BestIT is a technology solutions integrator that delivers high-value, client-focused solutions to enterprises at competitive prices. BestIT works with clients to create a roadmap designed to reinstate the collaborative dialog between business and technology.

Our environment is unique as it feels like a buzzing startup; we provide an upbeat modern professional space where you can share your knowledge base with fellow information technology and sales professionals in a way that is progressive and fun. We pride ourselves for providing cutting edge solutions, unlike any other competitor.

Contact info for applicants:

Apply here: https://hire.jobvite.com/Hiring/ViewJob.aspx?v=4&id=0

Or email: jeremiah.anderson@bestit.com

?

Source: http://www.iabcphoenix.com/marketing-operations-specialist/

golden globes 2012 red carpet golden globes red carpet nfc championship game martin luther king jr quotes martin luther king jr i have a dream speech packers score ricky gervais

Remember Lycos? It's Planning a New Search ... - The Next Web

Former search giant Lycos is planning a new search product for launch in 2013. While exact details as to what the product will actually offer are currently scant, CEO Rob Balazy has told The Next Web that it will offer content on the page itself without having to click off to pages in individual search results.

Lycos was a big name in search in the late 1990s. Along with the likes of Yahoo, Alta Vista and HotBot, it competed for our clicks as we browsed the Web, which itself was less than ten years old. When Google came along, quickly dominating the search market in many countries, names like Lycos slipped from the mass public consciousness. However, the company, complete with its canine logo, is still going strong, having been acquired by India-based digital marketing firm Ybrant Digital in 2010.

Currently, Lycos? search engine (seen in the screenshot below) is provided via a deal with Yahoo. However, 2013 will see a change, says Balazy.

Lycos search 520x174 Remember Lycos? Its planning a new search engine for launch in 2013

?In the coming year you will see us introduce a new proprietary search product. I don?t want to say too much about it as it?s still in the planning stage but we have a vision to merge the notion of a search-type activity with a curated content experience.?

The idea of offering information related to your search results is hardly new ? Google has been doing this for some time, for example. However, Balazy sees a gap in the market for Lycos? approach.

?We think the benefit to the consumer is huge. It removes the process of trial and error from clicking on search results and hitting ?Back? in the browser.?

No matter how unique Lycos? solution turns out to be, the idea of Lycos getting back into the search game is a big deal. Is the company looking to tackle Google head on?

?I don?t think that we aspire to take on Google,? says Balazy. ?Google?s big push has been to index the entire Web and be the definitive ?Library of Congress for the Web?. We?ll focus more on the head terms, the search queries that are important and matter to people and really focus on the presentation layer, making the user experience really intuitive, really beautiful and take the same data-driving approach we?re doing with our homepage.?

So, what is Lycos these days?

I decided to speak to Lycos after recently receiving a PR pitch for its first iOS game, word-based guessing game Evincible. Balazy was brought in as CEO in April this year, having previously been CEO at semantic Web startup Inform Technologies. So, what does Balazy ? whose CV also includes an earlier stint at Lycos in a business development role in 2003 and 2004 ? preside over?

Lycos dot com 520x341 Remember Lycos? Its planning a new search engine for launch in 2013

Visit Lycos.com and it?s easy to think of it as an old-style portal play ? and one-stop shop for users wanting quick access to news and a weather forecast along with a range of complementary services designed to enhance their online experience. Back in the 90s, portals were all the rage but they?ve fallen out of fashion in recent years, so who exactly is Lycos targeting?

?Our users continue to be mass market consumer Internet users. We have a big US presence and are pushing into localizing for UK, Germany, Japan and Australia. Throughout 2012 we?ve had significant momentum in each of those so I?m really pleased with that,? says Balazy.

?We want to the be the first place people think of when they want to do a search, or look for content or interact with the friends, business partners, peers and family. In that sense, I don?t think that the strategy has changed. I think that the way that we go about fulfilling that missions statement is evolving as the Web use-case evolves.?

So, Lycos is unashamedly a 21st Century take on the Web portal. Balazy says that the current iteration of its design is around two months old and that its development is based on an Agile, data-informed and iterative approach. ?It?s an app-like homepage, visually familiar to people in 2012.?

Lycos is a multi-headed beast. Visit its homepage, and in addition to a search box, you?ll find links to its other properties, like its Java, Flash and iOS-based games, its email service and its publishing tools ? most notably Tripod, a name that will ring bells with anyone who built their own website back in the late 1990s.

When the Tripod came

Back in its heyday, Tripod and its rival Geocities offered easy website-building tools and hosting services for the masses.

While Geocities has since kicked the bucket, and newer tools such as Microsoft Frontpage and Squarespace have attracted users with their own website-building offerings, Tripod lives on, accompanied by a newer Lycos service called Zeeblio.

Balazy says that Tripod is still ?doing really well,? with over 15 years? worth of content and 10s of millions of pages indexed by Google. ?It?s the little engine that keeps on chugging, in the sense that we keep signing up new users every day without making a push on the marketing side.?

Balazy says that Tripod has a dedicated team of around 15 people solely focused on adding new functionality and templates to Tripod. ?It?s been a very successful business for many years and want to continue that. We?re investing in the tools and we want to position our web publishing businesses as one of the premier places to build and a website if you want share photos or whatever on the Web.?

While search and publishing seem like a natural fit, gaming seems a little more of an unexpected addition to Lycos? offering. So, as Balazy sees it, what is Lycos in 2012?

?In a sentence, we?re a publisher, in a sense that we create content and a lot of that content is embodied in our game business. We?re an enabler of publishing in a sense that Tripod and Angelfire, and more recently Zeeblio are tools for users to generate content and then we?re an organiser of content across the Web, so I don?t think that our core mission has changed a lot. I think what we?ve done over the last year or so is to really focus on the things we think we can win at.?

How well is Lycos really doing?

While Balazy is happy to talk about Lycos? products, he?s not as forthcoming when it comes to discussing where the company?s revenues come from. After our chat, he provided the following statement:

?On top of the traditional search portal, Lycos offers some paid premium services and products alongside free, advertising-supported content and entertainment, in a variety of formats ranging from display standard sizes to video and special sponsorships. The way this is laid out varies per region and per product, and is part of our long term strategy.?

Similarly, Balazy won?t share any specific numbers regarding how many people are using Lycos, simply saying in his statement, ?We don?t have an update to share at this time. We are very happy with the trajectory of our user growth and we will of course update you as soon as we have news to announce in this area.?

While the tech press likes to constantly move on to the next big thing, seemingly irrelevant names like Lycos keep quietly chugging along as apparently viable businesses. Under relatively new ownership, Lycos seems keen to make that push back to mainstream relevance in 2013, and we?ll be keeping an eye on its new search product to see how it fares.

Source: http://thenextweb.com/insider/2012/12/27/remember-lycos-its-planning-a-new-search-engine-for-launch-in-2013/

episodes idris elba kelsey grammer martin henderson mlk day golden globes 2012 winners golden globes 2012 red carpet

Terri Giuliano Long: The Year Indies Finally Got On Top

First published on IndieReader.com

When I published In Leah's Wake in 2010, self-publishing was, for all intents and purposes, in its infancy. Yes, authors had been self-publishing for years, but it was only when e-readers finally entered the mainstream that self-publishing exploded. Suddenly, platforms like Amazon's Kindle Direct, Smashwords, and B&N's PubIt made publishing an e-book inexpensive and easy. Still, there were hurdles: proper formatting and conversion posed challenges and there were few services to help indie authors.

As with any new venture, processes had to be established. No one really knew how to promote self-published books. Established authors like Barbara Freethy enjoyed tremendous success, but for a new author with no fan base or insider knowledge, it was tough to get notice. We formed groups, asked questions, and tried pretty much whatever we could think of to market our books, hoping some of it would stick.

Most difficult was enduring the stigma. Traditional publishers wrote the rules; no one--publishing houses, agents or mainstream media--would touch self-published authors, largely denigrated as hacks who couldn't cut it in the traditional world. Even superstar John Locke, who'd sold millions of e-books, had few fans offline. When Locke struck a sweetheart distribution deal with Simon and Schuster, his books appeared in bookstores, but few owners and shoppers knew who he was; as a result, his books languished in the lower rent area on shelves at the back of stores.

Happily, the world has changed. In December 2011, Amazon stunned the industry when they introduced their KDP Select program, giving Amazon Prime members free access to thousands of books (now 180,000) in their Kindle Lending Library and offering authors an exciting new marketing opportunity and a brand new revenue stream. To participate, authors are required to distribute exclusively through Amazon, sparking outrage in the publishing world and--surprisingly--opening new avenues and presenting new opportunity for self-published authors.

For self-published authors 2012 was a groundbreaking year, with the Amazon KDP Select program only one of the many changes that altered the publishing landscape. Here, in my view, are the 10 most exciting changes that took place over the last year.

1) The bar continued to rise. Many talented authors self-publish, for a variety of reasons including finances and artistic control. Still, in a rush to publish, some sloppy authors put out work with egregious editing errors and poorly designed covers. Unprofessional work reinforces old prejudices against indie authors, frustrates readers, and infuriates indies who produce quality work.

Over the last year, groups have formed to evaluate and identify quality books and publishing professionals, once reluctant to deal with self-publishers, have joined forces with indie authors. Like any author who cares about her work, these pros expect self-published books to stand up to the New York competition. With quality self-pubbed books attracting a wide audience, reader expectations increased, raising the bar for all self-published authors.

2) Assisted self-publishing opportunities exploded. Early on, self-published authors were on their own, shouldering full responsibility for all aspects of the publishing process. For many authors, this was a daunting proposition.

Today, high quality assisted self-publishing companies take care of all the nuts and bolts, some offering services for a pre-determined upfront cost, others offering a range of ala carte services. Some of these companies even publish under the own ISBN, emulating the traditional publishing model while allowing authors greater control and a higher share of their profits.

3) Self-publishing platforms became more author-friendly and easier to navigate. Improving DIY platforms mean fewer of the post-conversion issues--odd formatting, for instance--that plagued indie authors. Companies introduced new platforms like Kobo Writing Life, giving authors flexibility plus additional sales and distribution channels. And aggregator/distributors like Book Baby and companies like Author Solutions/Booktango offer myriad services from editing to design, distribution, and marketing and promotion.

4) More traditional publicists began to promote self-published authors. Traditional publicists cannot replace Internet publicists nor do they replace the vibrant book blogging community, without which the e-book revolution would not have taken hold. Still, with their knowledge of and experience with mainstream media, traditional publicists can get exposure for indie authors that would be impossible to get on one's own. In 2012, I had the honor of appearing on the Jordan Rich and Mary Waldon Inspiring Women radio shows, and I received coverage in the Boston Globe and Newton Tab. By provided mainstream exposure, this helped me build a wider audience.

5) Bookstore owners became more receptive to self-published books. Until recently, authors who hoped to see their book on shelves in brick and mortar stores reached out to individual store managers and owners. If the author could show a local following, bookstores would often carry the book, but few others showed any interest. Due partly to animosity toward Amazon, seen by some as the behemoth putting small stores out of business, many store managers and owners refused on principal to stock self-published books.

In 2012, as self-published titles continued to gain steam, routinely making the NY Times and USA Today bestseller lists, store owners began to realize that refusing to carry self-published books cost them opportunities. Today, some forward-thinking store owners offer self-publishers an opportunity to buy shelf space for a reasonable price--under the same or similar contracts offered to traditional houses.

6) Distribution chains opened for self-published books. Until John Locke signed his distribution deal with Simon and Schuster, no self-published book enjoyed mainstream distribution. For a while, not even Barbara Freethy, a traditionally published author with numerous bestsellers, sold her self-published books into stores. While distribution remains limited and available primarily to authors who've reached a certain sales threshold, smaller distributors have begun to work with self-published authors.

This year, Bella Andre received a 7-figure deal for worldwide rights to distribute her bestselling novels in paperback--while maintaining rights to her e-books! Expect to see more such deals as indie authors continue to prove their worth with mind-blowing sales records!

7) The mainstream media finally took notice. Until recently, the mainstream media shunned self-publishers, refusing to write about or review their books. As more and more indie books claimed a spot on the staid NY Times and USA Today bestseller lists, self-publishers became harder to ignore. Today, Forbes, USA Today, the Wall Street Journal, and The Huffington Post report regularly on the self-publishing industry; many other outlets have begun to follow suit.

8) Literary organizations reached out to self-published authors. Grub Street, the second largest independent center for creative writing in the U.S., now offers classes in self-publishing and publishes posts on self-publishing on their blog. Bookstores host readings by indie authors and community groups continue efforts to recognize and celebrate self-published authors.

9) Traditional and self-published authors began working together. In 2012, disparaging remarks by authors Jodi Picoult and Sue Grafton infuriated self-published authors. While many traditionally pubbed authors supported Picoult and Grafton, their ranks are thinning. Increasingly, established authors self-publish their backlists--and in many cases new work--blurring the line between traditional and self-published authors.

In August, I had the wonderful opportunity work on a co-promotion, The Bestsellers' Sandbox, with the lovely and talented Ann Pearlman, a bestselling traditionally published author. Ann and I discussed our experiences and appeared together in a Twitter chat and radio show. Many of the readers who participated expressed surprise at the similarity between our backgrounds and experiences. Appearing together exposed each of us to a new fan base. By breaking down walls, such promotions benefit everyone.

10) In 2012, for the first time, as Amy Edelman reports in IndieReader, the New York Times reviewed a self-published book. It is impossible to overstate the groundbreaking significance of this. Mainstream reviews will never replace the trusted reviews and recommendations of talented book bloggers. Still, by reviewing an indie-published book, this respected review validated self-publishing--a landmark step toward evaluating books based solely on the quality of the work without regard to who published the book.

As 2012 comes to a close, I'm deeply grateful for the privilege of self-publishing and I have tremendous hope for continued change in the exciting new world of 2013!

Read more at IndieReader.com

?

Follow Terri Giuliano Long on Twitter: www.twitter.com/tglong

"; var coords = [-5, -72]; // display fb-bubble FloatingPrompt.embed(this, html, undefined, 'top', {fp_intersects:1, timeout_remove:2000,ignore_arrow: true, width:236, add_xy:coords, class_name: 'clear-overlay'}); });

Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/terri-giuliano-long/the-year-indies-finally-g_b_2371786.html

reason rally mad hatter azerbaijan ryan howard ps i love you ray charles cheney heart transplant

Russia reaches out to Syrian coalition

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, right, welcomes his Egyptian counterpart Mohamed Kamel Amr prior to a meeting in Moscow on Friday, Dec. 28, 2012. (AP photo)

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, right, welcomes his Egyptian counterpart Mohamed Kamel Amr prior to a meeting in Moscow on Friday, Dec. 28, 2012. (AP photo)

CAPTIONS ADDS IDENTITY OF MAN IN CENTRE OF PHOTO Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, right, and his Egyptian counterpart Mohamed Kamel Amr, left, walk prior to a meeting in Moscow on Friday, Dec. 28, 2012. Russian deputy foreign minister Gennady Gotilov is in background centre. (AP Photo)

CAPTIONS ADDS IDENTITY OF MAN IN CENTRE OF PHOTO Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, right, and his Egyptian counterpart Mohamed Kamel Amr, left, walk prior to a meeting in Moscow on Friday, Dec. 28, 2012. Russian deputy foreign minister Gennady Gotilov is in background centre. (AP Photo)

MOSCOW (AP) ? Russia's foreign minister says Moscow has proposed talks with the main Syrian opposition coalition, despite previous Russian criticism of Western countries' recognition of the group.

Sergey Lavrov told a news conference on Friday that Russia has contacted the Syrian National Coalition for Opposition and Revolutionary Forces through the Russian Embassy in Egypt and "we expressed readiness to conduct a meeting" with coalition leader Mouaz al-Khatib.

The statement comes in the wake of comments by officials, including President Vladimir Putin, that suggest Russia is resigned to its longtime ally Syrian President Bashar Assad losing power.

The opposition coalition was formed in November and recognized by Western countries as legitimate representatives of the Syrian people. Russia has criticized such recognition as running counter to agreements to seek political transition in Syria.

Associated Press

Source: http://hosted2.ap.org/APDEFAULT/cae69a7523db45408eeb2b3a98c0c9c5/Article_2012-12-28-Russia-Syria/id-41dd238fb3914951a5685590905ace09

olympics chariots of fire nbc Medal Count Sam Mikulak London 2012 diving Tim Berners-Lee